Skip to content

Les détails

06/05/2010

Keeping things short today as I’ll be out shooting for the most part this afternoon. I’ve somehow managed to get a few good projects on the go, all to be featured here sous peu of course… Also, this weekend is PucePop, where I will be spending a huge chunk of my time. There are loads of fun things happening there and I love uncovering new designers, but I’ll leave those details for a proper post.

So, on to the subject at hand, yes? Because everyone likes an outfit post! Since starting to do them on a fairly steady basis I’ve come to realize something about the way I dress: I’m really into the little details. Be it a bright plastic ring, or little bow necklace (below)… Or maybe a particular pair of shoes? Until pretty recently I was even wary of patterns,  but never consciously. I just gravitate towards simple cuts and classic styles which is why for some time I struggled with doing outfit posts at all.

Being inspired to blog by the one and only susie bubble way back when, I’d always felt as though my outfits ought to be as consistently bold as hers for them to be worth posting. I also didn’t want to fall into the category of predictable posters who keep things so distinctly similar there really isn’t any point to posting.

And so here we are. You (maybe) still reading, and me (finally) getting to the point: (and realizing that this isn’t keeping things short at all..) I love me some details, especially when they speak for themselves.I don’t often pile on mounds of accessories, nor do I like throwing on more than about four layers at any given time. Needless to say, I’m a bit of a minimalist leaning to the casual side of things when it comes to my daily dress and this marinière top and a bow necklace I fell in love with at H&M a few years ago over some black bottoms are a perfect example of why. Classic, easy to wear and the little details get the spotlight.


Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | TwitterYahoo Buzz

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 06/05/2010 2:05 pm

    That’s a lovely outfit, and in the end the best posts are when you ‘keep it real’. The truth is, we don’t all dress like Susie, as inspiring as she is. xx

  2. 06/05/2010 3:30 pm

    Love the stripes!

    tweet tweet tweet

    x

  3. 06/05/2010 3:47 pm

    Chic as always. I tend to be a minimalist too. I can def appreciate someone who manages to throw on lots of accessories and make them look great (for example, Fashion Toast), but I tend to only have a couple extras on. I like the stripes =)
    I’m very excited about your upcoming post you illuded too.. I’ll be returning =)

  4. 06/05/2010 6:32 pm

    Oh I do love this post!& yours whole blog in general you have a really nice style of writing as if it just comes so easily and I really enjoy reading it… When I post I have to go through it again and make it “sound good” haha

    When you were describing your style in this post it sounded very similar to my aproach also. I like very simple and minimalistic with accsessories. You have a great outfit here!
    Keep up the good work with your posts… sorry I haven’t been active much recently last exam tuesday!!

    - Adele
    MOLTOCURIOSA.COM ♥

  5. 06/05/2010 7:21 pm

    Love this post! Such an intellectual approach ;) I’m also not very big on accessories, i rarely wear any jewelry and my handbag collection pales in comparison to other fashionistas’… but i agree with what you say: because i also am more of a minimalist and classic seeker, the way to tweak a getup is very much all in the details! Oh and ps not to be annoying, but it’s spelt “détails” ;)

    Also, am in love with the sweater- i just love myself some stripes!

    Big hugs! xxx

  6. 06/08/2010 6:38 pm

    cute necklace.

Trackbacks

  1. A little grey, a big bow « une fille comme les autres

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

