Skip to content

Influence

06/09/2010

After running off to Costa Rica and falling in love with surfing a few months ago, I was happily surprised to watch the sport pick up momentum within the fashion community. Everywhere I look these days I see something made out of lycra or tie died (a slightly less inspired take I suppose) … Sporty cuts and necklines and the body con-type tops, bottoms, dresses, one-pieces… while you’d be hard pressed to catch me running down the street in a cropped wet suit any time soon, (still best reserved for the beach i say..) there are definitely other ways to send a little nod in direction of the sport.

I took my inspiration from a slew of magazines… While flipping through the pages I noticed some takes were a little more litteral than others..

…Because it’s so subversive to do a cover story (Vogue US June 2010) with surf lessons as the backdrop… I was already a bit skeptical when Hamish Bowles ‘roughed it’ while camping a few issues back and now they’ve thrown the poor man on a surfboard.. (he would be the one in middle, on his knees ‘gamely trying to stand’…)

And then there are the more creative approaches which I think speak for themselves. The layering and amount of different pieces in some of the editorials combined with the patterns and especially the colors associated with surf culture are my favorite part. There’s also something so earthy about the sport…which…is kind of ironic… no?

belt – Tristan | dress – fcuk | shorts – nylons (diy) | lace bra – aa

tank top – Marc Jacobs | shirt – unknown | shorts – Zara | brogues – Steve Madden

Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | Twitter | Yahoo Buzz

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 06/09/2010 12:37 pm

    Hey lovely! Loving this post! Living in the very very centre of England means I have never unfortunately had the chance to surf… but I have always been fascinated by it! When I was like 14 I went through the whole surfer look stage! Beads and flowers lol! These girls look much cooler! Great post… you look great also I am absolutely loving that white shirt… the unknown one :( Hope your well!
    - Adele
    MOLTOCURIOSA.COM

  2. may permalink
    06/09/2010 10:13 pm

    love the aqua zara shorts!! they pop :) and the brogues..mm hmm! they go with everything~~

    so when u coming to 604? did u buy ur ticket yet?

  3. 06/09/2010 10:35 pm

    amazing post, we are loving your blog.. your collaboration of fashion is great

    stop by our fashion blog, we hope you love it!

    xx .sabo skirt.

    http://www.saboskirt.blogspot.com
    http://www.saboskirt.blogspot.com
    http://www.saboskirt.blogspot.com

  4. 06/11/2010 11:48 am

    Elize, you’re on fire with blogging and i’m loving it!!! I’m also loving the surfer thing, it just makes me want to retreat to california or hawaii or something! I think that if i was a teenager i’d even attempt the neon/pastel shades in my hair. And those bright turquoise shorts are adorable. You look so good! I can’t get over how much weight you’ve lost! :)

    And omg LOL to that Hamish Bowles comment!!!

    xxxx

  5. 06/14/2010 8:04 am

    simply stunning darling :)!!!! love the outfit with the Zara’s shorts :)!!
    luv ya !!
    kisses
    mixxxxxxx

  6. 06/16/2010 10:30 am

    GREAT inspiration and the first outfit is amazing! I also love the surfer-inspired pop of colour in the second outfit ;) xx

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

