Skip to content

an ode to brogues

04/09/2010

shoes: steve madden, jeans: olivia, top: fcuk

I really shouldn’t post about my love for brogues. If I start to explain it, I might not be able stop talking about how much I just adore the brown leathery goodness, the fact that they are both fancy and casual at the same time, will stretch slightly with each wear to hug my foot perfectly, that they make my legs look just a little longer because they’re slightly pointed, but not too pointed. In fact the toe is just perfectly rounded in that semi-narrow kind of way. And did I mention: they’re flats. ..so let’s recap shall we: a flat shoe that makes your legs look longer? … who says perfection is hard to come by?

…In other news, a woman I work with was trying to tell me about these crazy nail polish colors she’d seen at this store. But what was the name of the store again? Oh, you know!! I know you know this!! That place! Where they sell all those clothes that look kinda vintag-ey and used but aren’t? … All I could do was stare back for a moment, and then it came to me: Urban Outfitters?  And then came a yelp: YES!! That’s it, exactly!

To be honest, it kind of fits. Perfectly. I’d never really thought of it before, and the realization actually made me chuckle out loud a little. Nearly all of the little shirts, dresses, knit tights and little leather loafers stocked at this meca of the aspiring hipster look as though they could have been worn before. It’s something about the way each article falls. I suppose that’s exactly it. There’s not so much sitting happening on the body, just …falling. Which is probably why I can resist the new arrivals section whenever I peek in there. But the sale section? …Dresses with washed out  floral patterns are really cute when they only cost 9 dollars..

Add to FaceBookAdd to Twitter

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Marie-Helene permalink
    04/09/2010 11:18 am

    you did it!
    <3

  2. Marie permalink
    04/11/2010 10:20 pm

    i LOVE it !!
    :)

  3. may permalink
    04/12/2010 11:27 pm

    nice outfit :))))

    i really dig the shoes. my clarks arent as pointy and shiny as yours …darn, if only i knew that lil’ bit of pointyness makes ur legs look longer!!

    oh well~~

  4. 04/14/2010 11:53 am

    Those shoes are siiick!! And those jeans look so great on you! Love their classic blue jean color :) You look great darling!

    xx

Trackbacks

  1. Les détailles « une fille comme les autres

Leave a Reply

