Skip to content

Fabriqué tranquillement à Montréal

04/22/2010

I played tourist in my own city a while back. One of my best friends was in town so we hit all the best spots I could think of for the few days she was here. Byblos and Olive & Gourmando for coffee and morning eats, Griffintown cafe for drinks and live (awesome) blues, Schwartz’s (It was my first time there too, shocking I know…And yes, it is THAT good.) As is generally the case when girlfriends get together, there was lots of chatting, laughing and shopping to be had.

On her very last day in Montreal, as I was giving her a tour of the quaint quiet sidestreets that run through this city, we happened upon a wonderful little store: Raplapla.

While the boutique houses all kinds of wonderful trinkets and creations by designers form Montreal and beyond, the Raplapla dolls are the main draw. Each doll is created by hand, and every collection is made in limited quantities. All are made in Montreal by the same woman, Erica Perrot, a one time fashion student and theater couturière.


I spotted a work station in the back corner of the store from where I figure all her creations are made. You can’t see it in the picture, but there was also a miniature woodburning furnace near by. So much cute contained in one place! I fell in love with both the sewing kit and the pastry kit during my visit, but because I couldn’t decide between the two I indulged my new accessories obsession and settled for a pin instead.

Add to FaceBookAdd to Twitter

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 04/22/2010 11:47 pm

    I love these places! Love roaming around Montreal as well! Crazy we have bumped into each at Griffintown cafe – I’m always there trying to finish up essays (or casually taking in some coffee and food)!

  2. 04/23/2010 7:13 am

    nice pictures!! looks so cute

Leave a Reply

