Skip to content

Popped!

05/22/2010

I’m forever in awe of the way the internet can bring people together, namely Twitter, but also the good old fashioned email inbox. I woke up last week to my blackberry buzzing and there on my phone was a message from artist Marco Santaniello. Those of you who read Business of Fashion might recognize the name. They did a spotlight on him during the month of April showcasing his t-skirt designs, and highlighting his pop-art portraits. I’m not quite sure which he’s better known for, but if you like color he’s sure to inspire. I was surprised to say the least, but super falttered when he approached me to do a portrait.

Something all his portraits have in common is the background – the colors are inspired by Rubik’s cube, as is most of his work in general. In fact, he calls the cube his ‘fetish’ because of the different possibilities it contains. He’s a pretty interesting character who’s taking it upon himself to shake up what is otherwise a very strict and stuffy-seeming Italian fashion industry.

(Not to launch into a rant or anything, but I know that many people talk about how difficult it is for new designers in Paris… And when was the last time you saw a new, young Italian designer featured anywhere?? Kids are the future people.)

(source)

So, Marco Santaniello. He was on his way to Paris to stage an impromptu fashion show for his t-skirt designs – a colorful play of the the harem pant/manipulation of t-shirts – when he sent me my portrait.

Though I’d seen the portraits he’s done of Susie Bubble, Anna Wintour and BryanBoy among others, I really wasn’t sure what to expect. I mean, how often is one turned into an illustration? While it took me a moment to get used to the graphic-me, I was pleasently surprised by the finished product. I love that it’s so blue as I’ve been really into the denim the past few days.

check him out here, and his partner in crime, the designer/writer/stylist Terrance Sambo here

Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | Twitter | Yahoo Buzz

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 05/23/2010 1:18 pm

    Amazing, I love unusual illustrations. You are so lucky!

    Kb from I Want You To Know

  2. 05/23/2010 9:12 pm

    Amazing! I love your blog.

    xoxo
    Rachel

  3. 05/28/2010 1:02 pm

    looks cool!

    <3

    http://rosacouture.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

