Skip to content

Garçon manqué

05/30/2010

Just a few pictures that I’ve come across recently that I absolutely love…I was a bit reticent to get excited about the 90’s redux we’re experiencing, but I’ve since come around. I was just a tot during the original era so I didn’t get the full benefit of the grunge movement the first time around. To be honest, the only thing I really remember are my cousins wearing neon zink on their noses. That, and Aerosmiths ‘Crazy’ (the first music video I’d ever seen!)

There’s something to be said about the adrogyny vs utlra fem, and the third-wave feminism… This is actually one of those times where I think fashion’s reflection of society is the most clearcut with todays. Just a casual search yielded words like environmentalism and entrepreneurship, individualistic, counter-cultural…or my favorite:  “retro styles inspired by fashions of the 1960s and 1970s were also prevalent.” So many of the same words being thrown around today…



Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | Twitter | Yahoo Buzz

One Comment leave one →
  1. adelejoanna permalink
    05/30/2010 12:58 pm

    Such an amazing post… past fashion excites me more than current! Great video, I have never really took time to look into 90s fashion because I am so obbsessed with the 80s right now and I was alive in the 90s and baby photos are horrendous! I have recently made a collage of the histroy of jeans that I will post soon and I found that first photo online and added it! Hope your well!
    – Adele
    MOLTOCURIOSA.COM ♥

Leave a Reply

